BusinessPatna MetroRailway JobsSarkari Yojana

The Patna Metro | Maps | Routes | Status | Project Details

Patna, the capital city of Bihar, is undergoing a transformative change with the introduction of the Patna Metro. This ambitious rapid transit system is set to redefine urban transportation in the city. In this SEO article, we will take a closer look at various aspects of the Patna Metro stations, including its routes, ticket pricing, ownership, funding, current status, and whether it will include underground stations.

The Patna Metro is an exciting project aimed at improving the city’s connectivity and easing commuter woes. With 24 stations across two corridors, this metro system promises to be a game-changer for the city’s residents and visitors alike.

What are the Routes of Metro in Patna?

The Patna Metro will comprise two corridors, each catering to different parts of the city:

  1. Corridor 1: This route stretches from Danapur to Mithapur, ensuring convenient access to several key destinations along the way.
  2. Corridor 2: Running from Patna Junction to New ISBT, this corridor will provide essential connectivity in the heart of Patna.

The metro system includes both elevated and underground routes, offering flexibility and convenience to commuters.

Ticket Pricing for Patna Metro

The affordability of metro tickets is often a significant concern for commuters. In Patna, the ticket prices are expected to be competitive, drawing parallels with the well-established Delhi Metro. As of now, the approximate ticket prices are anticipated to be around 30 rupees for the journey from ISBT station to Patna Junction and 40 rupees for the route from Danapur Cantonment to Khemnichak. Keep in mind that these prices are subject to change as the project nears completion.

Is Patna Metro Private or Government-Owned?

The Patna Metro is a government initiative through the state-run Patna Metro Rail Corporation (PMRC). This public-limited state government company was incorporated in India in 2019. The project is being developed under a Public-Private Partnership (PPP) model, with approvals from both the Bihar government and the central government.

Funding the Patna Metro Project

The financial backbone of the Patna Metro project comes from the Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA). This renowned institution has signed a loan agreement with the Government of India, providing substantial funding amounting to 98,612 million yen (Rs 5,509 crore), which covers a significant portion of the project’s total cost of Rs 13,365.77 crore (approximately $1.7 billion). This funding ensures that the project remains on track and can be completed as planned.

Status of the Metro Project in Patna

As of now, the Patna Metro is under construction, with the first phase expected to be operational by 2024. This phase will see the opening of the first section, and five stations are slated to be operational by March 2025. The project is progressing according to the outlined timeline, with full completion expected by 2027.

Will Patna Metro Include Underground Stations?

Yes, the Patna Metro will indeed include underground stations. The underground route is approximately 7.5 kilometers long and features six stations. This component of the metro system will enhance connectivity within the city, especially in densely populated areas.

List of Patna Metro Stations

To provide you with a quick reference, here is a list of the Patna Metro stations:

  1. Danapur Cantonment Station
  2. Saguna Mor Station
  3. RPS Mor Station
  4. Patlipura Station
  5. Rukanpura Station
  6. Raja Bazar Station
  7. Patna Zoo Station
  8. Vikas Bhawan Station
  9. Patna Junction
  10. Akashwani
  11. Gandhi Maidan
  12. PMCH
  13. Patna University
  14. Moin ul Haq Stadium
  15. Rajendra Nagar

These stations are strategically placed to facilitate easy access to key areas and landmarks across the city.

Proposed Metro Corridors of Patna

CORRIDOR-IA East-West Metro Corridor
Danapur-Mithapur/Bypass Chow
Via Patna Railway Station
CORRIDOR-IB Digha Link Metro Corridor
Digha Ghat-High Court/Vikas Bhawan
CORRIDOR-II North-South Metro Corridor
Patna-Railway Station-ISBT
Via Gandhi Maidan-PMCH-Rajendra Nagar Railway Station-Kumhrar-Zero Mile
CORRIDOR-III Mithapur/Bypass Chowk-Didarganj 13.00
CORRIDOR-IV Mithapur/Bypass Chowk-Phoolwari Sharif/AIIMS 11.00


1. What is the Patna Metro?

The Patna Metro is a rapid transit system under construction in Patna, Bihar, aimed at improving public transportation and reducing traffic congestion.

2. How many corridors and stations does the Patna Metro have?

The Patna Metro consists of two corridors with a total of 24 stations. Corridor 1 runs from Danapur to Mithapur, and Corridor 2 runs from Patna Junction to New ISBT.

When is the Patna Metro expected to be operational?

The first phase of the Patna Metro is expected to be operational in 2024, with full completion anticipated by 2027.

4. What is the funding source for the Patna Metro project?

The Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA) is a major funding source for the Patna Metro project, covering a significant portion of its cost through a loan agreement.

5. Is the Patna Metro government-owned or private?

The Patna Metro is government-owned and operated by the state-run Patna Metro Rail Corporation (PMRC).


The Patna Metro is poised to revolutionize transportation in the city, offering a convenient and efficient way for residents and visitors to navigate the urban landscape. With multiple corridors, both elevated and underground sections, and competitive ticket pricing, the Patna Metro is set to become a vital part of Patna’s infrastructure. Keep an eye on its progress as it inches closer to becoming a reality, promising a brighter and more connected future for the city of Patna.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button